Mississippi Valley Division Header Image


Home > About > Mississippi River Commission (MRC) > Current Members

Current Members


Maj. Gen. Michael C. Wehr
Corps of Engineers
Commander, Mississippi Valley Division
President, Mississippi River Commission
Vicksburg, MS

The Honorable Sam E. Angel, MRC member


 Honorable Sam E. Angel
Civilian Member
Lake Village, AR

Honorable R. D. James
 Civilian Member/Civil Engineer
New Madrid, MO

 Honorable Norma Jean Mattei, Ph.D.
Civilian Member/Civil Engineer
Metairie, LA

Brig. Gen. David C. Hill

Rear Admiral Shepard Smith*
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Director, Office of Coast Survey
Silver Spring, MD

Brigadier General Mark Toy
Corps of Engineers
Commander, Great Lakes and Ohio River Division
Cincinnati, OH

Brig. Gen. David C. Hill
Corps of Engineers
Southwestern Division
Dallas, TX

*Member Nominee
Use of the term "Member Nominee" does not presume that the President will appoint that "Nominee." Member Nominees are nominated for "appointment" by the Department of Defense or the Department of Commerce. As the nomination and appointment process unfolds to fill vacancies, the Commission's mission continues with regular engagement with the public, partners and stakeholders responsible for the major watersheds in the Mississippi Valley watershed system--Ohio, Missouri and Mississippi rivers. Member Nominees participate in these engagements in order to remain situationally aware until such time as the President's appointment has been made.