Mike Turner selected as chief of Business Technical Division

Published Nov. 4, 2013

VICKSBURG, Miss., November 4, 2013 – Mr. Michael A. Turner was recently selected as deputy director of the Regional Business Directorate and chief of the Business Technical Division for the  Mississippi Valley Division, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. His job duties include serving as the division expert in all matters relating to engineering and construction within the region as well as the responsibility for planning, supervising and providing technical leadership in the division's engineering and construction functions.

A native of Belzoni, Miss., Mr. Turner began his Corps career as a design engineer in the Vicksburg District and has more than 30 years of experience in engineering, supervisory and leadership roles. His experience includes a broad array of civil works and water resources activities at both the district and regional level.  Mr. Turner’s most recent assignment was chief of the Technical Support Branch in the Vicksburg District, where he was instrumental in the development and execution of the division’s regional architect engineer contracting initiative and served as a member of the Regional Acquisition Strategy Board.

Mr. Turner received his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from Mississippi State University. He is a registered professional engineer and a certified level 2 facilities engineer. He is also a member of the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME), where he plays an important leadership role serving as camp director of the SAME/Army Engineering and Construction Camp conducted each summer to expose high school students from around the country to the engineering profession.

Mike is married to the former Renee Noe from Clarksdale, Miss., and they have three children.

The Mississippi Valley Division is responsible for water resources engineering solutions in a 370,000-square-mile area, extending from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico and encompassing portions of 12 states.  Work is carried out by district offices located in St. Paul, Minn.; Rock Island, Ill.; St. Louis, Mo.; Memphis, Tenn.; Vicksburg, Miss.; and New Orleans, La.

Bob Anderson

Release no. 13-020